Pascal's Wager: Pros and Cons
mcchillin88

Usergroup: Members

Total Topics: 3
Total Posts: 9
#1 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Oct 17, 2010 - 12:02 PM:
Subject: Pascal's Wager: Pro's and Con's
I'm studying Pascal's Wager, trying to figure out the basic pros and cons of the argument. Would anybody like to give me their opinion of the argument? I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

Edited by Kamerynn on Oct 17, 2010 - 2:57 PM. Reason: apostrophe use
fdrake
Hoak, Hogan.

Total Topics: 24
Total Posts: 1187
#2 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Oct 17, 2010 - 12:28 PM:

It's bollocks. Entire thing falls apart when you consider how many metaphysically possible divinities there are (infinite). Especially when his justification for a wager was that the divine was infinitely incomprehensible. He can't then go on to partition the divine into two categories! That goes against the whole incomprehensibility thing.

Even assuming it's in the Christian-or-nothing sense Pascal wrote it to be, and even if we assume for a moment it should cause belief in people... His suggestion to anyone that didn't currently believe was to, if I remember correctly:

Attend religious practice to stupefy yourself

Which isn't guaranteed to work.

As an argument for belief, it fails, and even we grant it to work - it won't necessarily convinice anyone it was aimed at.
WizardDevil

Total Topics: 2
Total Posts: 15
#3 - Quote - Permalink
Posted Oct 17, 2010 - 1:04 PM:

I have to agree with fdrake. If taken at face value, it seems to make sense, but once you start to think about it, it falls very short of being a logical argument in favor of theism.